# APPENDIX I

# CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT

Certain information given in Chapter II on Constitution and Government (closed off Oct. 1, 1966) is up-dated in this Appendix.

# Page 85, Table 2

His Excellency General The Right Honourable Georges P. Vanier, D.S.O., M.C., C.D., died Mar. 5, 1967. The Hon. Roland Michener, P.C., Q.C., was appointed as the 20th Governor General of Canada on Apr. 4, 1967 and sworn in on Apr. 17, 1967.

### Page 87, Table 4

On Jan. 9, 1967, the Hon. Walter L. Gordon was appointed Member of the Admini-

stration, precedence following the Hon. Paul Theodore Hellyer.

On Apr. 4, 1967, the Hon. Lucien Cardin resigned as Minister of Justice and Attorney General; the Hon. Guy Favreau resigned as President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada; the Hon. Walter Gordon was appointed President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada; the Hon. John Turner was appointed Registrar General of Canada; Pierre Elliot Trudeau, Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister, was appointed Minister of Justice and Attorney General; and J.-J. Jean Chrétien, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance, was appointed Member of the Administration.

## Pages 88-89, Table 5

On Jan. 11, 1967, the Prime Minister announced that His Excellency the Governor General had approved his recommendation that the Premiers of the Provinces be appointed to be members of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada, to be sworn in at a later date.

The Rt. Hon. James Lorimer Ilsley died Jan. 14, 1967.

Mme Georges P. Vanier was appointed a member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada on Apr. 11, 1967.

#### Pages 91-92, Table 8

The Hon. Douglas Everett was appointed Senator for Manitoba on Nov. 8, 1966. Senators appointed Apr. 6, 1967: the Hon. Maurice Lamontagne, P.C., Montreal. Que.; Mrs. R. A. Kinnear, Port Colborne, Ont.; Keith Laird, Q.C., Windsor, Ont.; and Andrew Thompson, Kendal, Ont.

The Hon. Adrian K. Hugessen resigned as Senator for Quebec on Jan. 1, 1967. The Hon. Stanley Stewart McKeen, Senator for British Columbia, died on Dec. 1, 1966; the Hon. William Rupert Davies, Senator for Ontario, died Mar. 11, 1967; and the Hon. Alexander Neil McLean, Senator for New Brunswick, died Mar. 12, 1967

### Pages 95-100, Table 10

R. Mitchell, Member of the House of Commons for Sudbury, Ont., died Jan. 5, 1967. Footnote! (p. 96)—by-election for Hull electoral district had not yet been held at the date of going to press.

#### Page 118, Government of the Yukon Territory

R. G. Cameron retired as Commissioner, dated May 31, 1966, and James Smith was appointed Commissioner on Oct. 14, 1966.

### Pages 118-119, Government of the Northwest Territories

B. G. Sivertz retired as Commissioner on Jan. 16, 1967; Deputy Commissioner Stuart M. Hodgson was appointed Commissioner and John H. Parker, Deputy Commissioner on Mar. 2, 1967.

An Act to amend the Northwest Territories Act (SC 1966-67, c. 22), which received Royal Assent on June 2, 1966, authorized the addition of three elected members to the Council of the Northwest Territories. The following were subsequently elected: Simonie, E7-551 for Eastern Arctic electoral district; Duncan Pryde for Central Arctic electoral district; and Robert Williamson for Keewatin electoral district.

On Jan. 18, 1967, Yellowknife became the capital of the Northwest Territories.